Form-Based Codes Institute at Smart Growth America

Driehaus Form-Based Codes Award

The Driehaus Form-Based Codes Award

Sponsored by the Form-Based Codes Institute
with the Generous Support of the Richard H. Driehaus Charitable Lead Trust

The Form-Based Codes Institute at Smart Growth America is thrilled to announce the winner of the fifteenth annual Richard H. Driehaus Form-Based Code Award for achievement in the writing and implementation of a stellar form-based zoning code–the City of South Bend Zoning Ordinance for the City of South Bend, Indiana.

– – –

Form-based codes regulate development to give unity, efficient organization, social vitality, and walkability to our cities, towns, and neighborhoods. They create a predictable, high-quality public realm by using physical form, rather than separation of uses, as the primary organizing principle. Form-based codes address the relationship between building facades and the public realm, the form and mass of buildings in relation to one another, and the scale and types of streets and blocks. FBCI encourages code applications that have been adopted for disinvested neighborhoods or communities of color, or that have been drafted by minority professionals. Each year, the jury of experts–code writers, administrators, and users, evaluate the applications against FBCI’s Standards of Practice. Winning codes exemplify how these standards can be applied successfully in different contexts. All of the winning entries will be added to FBCI’s Library of Codes to serve as models for other communities.

FBCI mourns the loss of it’s long-time friend and supporter, Richard H. Driehaus. Richard was the Institute’s founding benefactor the Richard H. Driehaus Charitable Lead Trust and has underwritten this annual Award, which bears his name, since its inception.

Please note: codes that have been written, or worked on in any capacity, by members of the Driehaus Award jury or their organization are ineligible for consideration during the time of that juror’s service. Please contact FBCI staff for additional information.


Award Jury

Peter Park (Jury Chair)       Tony Perez                        Kathryn Slama                   



Samantha Suter                   Bernice Radle            






FBCI acknowledges and thanks the Richard H. Driehaus Charitable Lead Trust for its support of The Driehaus Form-Based Codes Award.