Call For Submissions

Instructions, Entry and Submission Forms 

Download forms - doc

Download forms - pdf

Driehaus Form-Based Codes Award 2014

Sponsored by FBCI with the generous support of the Richard H. Driehaus Charitable Lead Trust

The Board of Directors of the Form-Based Codes Institute is pleased to announce its eighth annual award for achievement in the writing and implementation of form-based codes. Form-based codes are a method of regulating development to achieve specific urban form. They create a predictable public realm primarily by controlling physical form and secondarily by land use. 

Entries must be adopted into law by a unit of local government. Codes recently adopted as well as codes adopted in prior years are welcome. Entries should be codes intended to foster built results consistent with a master plan. The Award Jury's considerations will include, but not be limited to, the following considerations: 

  • Will the code deliver a predictable street character (public space)?
  • Is the code implementable and will it be relatively easy to use?
  • Does the code have especially relevant and distinguishing features that advance the practice?
  • Will the code promote good urbanism (has it resulted in appropriate development activity)?

There is no entry fee. Anyone is eligible to submit a legally adopted form-based code. However, if a current jury member, or member of a jury member's firm or organization are, or were, part of a code-writing team or a participant in the design, writing, adoption, or implementation process, that code is ineligible for review in the 2014 program.

Award winners will be recognized June 6, 2014 during a session called Today's Best Form-Based Codes, at the Congress for the New Urbanism's twenty-second annual meeting in Buffalo, New York. The planners and officials associated with the winning codes are invited to participate in this session to discuss their codes in detail.

Submissions must be received by FBCI no later than Monday, March 31, 2014. Entrants are advised to use a mailing service that guarantees delivery date.

NOTE: Each submission must include five (5) copies of the Submission Materials Form, six (6) CDs and one (1) hard copy of the code document.  

Enclose entry form with completed submission materials and mail to

Form-Based Codes Institute
Attn: Program Director
333 N. Michigan Avenue, Suite 510
Chicago, IL 60601
(tel. 312/731-4701)


Awards Jury for the 2014 Driehaus Form-Based Codes Award

Geoffrey Ferrell (Jury Chair)
Principal, Ferrell Madden LLC
Washington, DC

Joseph Kohl
Principal, Dover, Kohl & Partners
Coral Gables, Florida

Jason Beske, AICP
Principal Urban Designer and Principal Planner
Arlington County, Virginia

Randall Arendt, FRTPI
Principal, Greener Prospects
Brunswick, Maine


FBCI logo